The Truth Will Set You Free

Every time we open our mouths, we have two choices. We can tell the truth or we can lie. It seems like an easy choice, an obvious answer. Tell the truth. But the truth is getting harder and harder to find.

A story is posted on facebook. Your friend reads it, is outraged, and shares it. You read it, are equally outraged and share it. Soon the story is everywhere. People everywhere are outraged about this horrible thing that happened and the horrible person who did it. How could this happen? People united together against this horrible thing. Everyone is talking about it. Sounds great, right?

The only problem is the whole thing was a lie. The horrible thing didn’t happen (or if it did happen the “victim” was actually the perpetrator). The truth comes out a week or two later, but no one shares that story.

And this happens over and over again.

The first lie was told in the Garden (Genesis 5), and the lies have continued. The Bible is full of references on how God feels about lying and the truth.

“These six things the Lord hates, yes, seven are an abomination to Him: a proud look, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that are swift in running to evil, a false witness who speaks lies, and one who sows discord among brethren.” -Proverbs 6:16-19

“Lying lips are an abomination to the Lord, but those who deal truthfully are His delight.” -Proverbs 12:22

“A false witness will not go unpunished, and he who speaks lies will not escape.” -Proverbs 19:5

“But the cowardly, unbelieving, abominable, murderers, sexually immoral, sorcerers, idolaters, and all liars shall have their part in the lake which burns with fire and brimstone, which is the second death.” -Revelations 21:8

“And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” -John 8:32

“Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.'” -John 14:6

And there are many, many more.

When everyone lies, how can we trust anything? I find myself believing less and less. I find myself trusting people (outside those I’m closest to) less and less. I trust almost nothing I read on facebook and other social media sites. I trust almost nothing that comes from the government. I don’t trust the news media. I try to be very careful about what I share on facebook or twitter.

I don’t want to live like this. I want to trust people. I want to be able to trust the stories my friends share. I want to trust what’s being reported. I want the truth.

I’m raising two little boys who I pray will speak the truth. And as we are continually surrounded by lies, this is harder and harder. I find myself correcting things they hear and see on a regular basis. How can we raise our children to be truthful if they are surround by lies? I try to be very truthful. I find myself exaggerating something and then immediately correcting myself.

Can we just all start telling the truth?

Just imagine that. Everyone just starts telling the truth and calling out the lies. Think of how great it could be. We could trust each other because we would tell the truth. Think of how much easier it would be. And, yes, sometimes the truth is hard. But the truth is always better than the lie, and the truth always comes out in the end.

Tell the truth.

Call out the lie.

The truth will set you free.

One response to “The Truth Will Set You Free

Leave a comment