Jesus was a baby

With Christmas just days away, Jesus as a baby is especially on my heart. Just think about that. Jesus (GOD!) came to us, to be one of us, to feel and experience what we do as we do, and he came as a baby.

I believe that Jesus could have come as an adult if he had chosen, but he chose to come as a baby. He came as the most helpless and innocent of us. It is amazing.

And this brought me to another thought. One that may make people angry. It brought me around to abortion.

What if the Christmas story didn’t take place 2000 years ago? What if it took place today? What if Mary was a young woman today?

Lets tell that story:

Its just before graduation and Mary’s got a problem. She just found out she’s pregnant. She and her boyfriend have talked about getting married, but they’ve never had sex. (Who’s going to believe that?) She’s pretty sure that an angel of the Lord appeared to her and told her that the baby is from God and coming to save us all, but her parents certainly aren’t going to believe that story.

Not knowing what else to do Mary tells her best girl friend what’s happened. Her friend knows just what to do. She tells Mary not to tell anyone. She knows a place. They’ll take care of this problem. Joseph will never know. The world will never know. It’s no big deal. These things happen. In and out. Easy-peasy. Problem solved.

Think about it.

The argument for abortion is its a woman’s choice or it’s not a baby, a person, until the woman chooses it to be or until it’s born.

Was the child Mary was carrying not a baby, not Jesus, not THE SAVIOR until Mary chose for him to be? Was he not The Christ even before she knew she was pregnant? What if Mary CHOSE that it was too much work to be the mother of Our Savior? Or that it was too much to try and explain this child to her friends and family? Or maybe she just wasn’t ready.

Now I know that every child conceived is not The Lord. However, if you believe that Mary’s child was The Lord before he was born, how can you say that every other child conceived isn’t a child at the moment of conception?

Now I’ve never been in a position where a pregnancy, even unplanned, has been anything but a welcome addition, a moment of joy (even when that moment was followed by pure panic). I don’t know what it feels like to not be overjoyed by the life growing inside me. But I know myself enough to know that there is no decision, no matter the situation.

If you’re reading this and made a decision different than I would have made or that I believe is right, I want you to know that I love you. Even if I don’t know you I love you. I believe you made the wrong choice. I hate the choice you made, but that does not change my feelings about you.

God knew me before I was born. He knew me before I was conceived. Jesus was a person before Mary knew she was pregnant and so was every other baby. It’s one way or the other.

As you get together with your families and celebrate Jesus’s birthday, as you hear the Christmas story, as you look at your nativity sets and exchange gifts, remember that Jesus came as a baby. And he was alive before he took his first breath.

Jesus was a baby.

2 responses to “Jesus was a baby

  1. If Jesus did not come to Earth as a baby, like you said, God could have chosen a different form for the Savior. I think it is clear that God’s plans will be, regardless of a changing environment. If Mary decided to have an abortion, God’s need of a Savior would be honored in another form.

    One must be careful in discussing abortion to not assume that most of the women who choose to have an abortion do so because “they simply weren’t prepared for it” or because they aren’t financially prepared to take on the responsibility. Many women are raped (1 in 3 women), victims of incest, have disabilities, develop conditions that make delivery life-threatening, or become pregnant in their early teens without support networks.

    To say that you made the decision to keep your child after an unexpected pregnancy is commendable, though it can be assumed that you had the privilege to make such a decision. Although there are cases where women choose to terminate a pregnancy because they “simply weren’t prepared for it”, this percentage of women should not discount all of those women who would lead torturous lives or experience death by not terminating their pregnancy. Those women need autonomy, their basic human rights supported, social services, and the power of prayer and community.

    Often arguments like these propel political action to overturn Roe v. Wade in an effort to make abortion illegal once again. Let me be clear, banning abortion will not end abortion. It will only drive it underground, causing thousands of injuries and deaths each year. Before Roe v. Wade passed in 1973, 5,000 women died each year from illegal abortions and there were 1.3 million illegal abortions each year (Sobelsohn, 1996).

    As Christians, it is imperative we employ empathy, tolerance, critical thinking, and consider all sides of a social issue before relying on historically conservative tropes.

    Sobelsohn, D. (1996). Human, all too human: Abortion law in america. [review of the book Doctors of conscience: The struggle to provide abortion before and after roe v. wade by C. Joffe]. The Journal of Sex Research, 33(2) 168-170.

    • I just really wanted to thank you for taking the time to read my blog. I’m so thankful we live in a country where we are all free to have our own opinions and have the opportunity to share them. We may not agree,but it means so much to have people I don’t know read the words I write and then share their thoughts and beliefs. I hope you have a very merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

