I’m not going to tolerate it anymore

Christmas Eve is 1 1/2 hours away as I start to write this and I really wanted to write one more post about Christmas. Well, I really wanted to write about Easter and how Christmas is just another birthday without the cross. But as I started planning out the words in my head, I realized that I’m going to have to wait a little longer to talk about how Easter should be a bigger celebration than Christmas.

The same phrase kept forcing itself into my head. Jesus preached love not tolerance. I’ve heard a lot about how as Christians we should tolerate the choices of others, especially after my last post on abortion. Add into that the political correctness that has over taken our lives and I’m overwhelmed. I don’t know where the world is heading and sometimes it scares me.

Jesus never told us to tolerate anything. In fact the only time tolerate is mentioned in the bible is in telling us to not tolerate. Jesus did not tolerate anything. In Mark 11:12-25 and Luke 19:45-48, Jesus did not tolerate the money changers in the temple, but he over turned their tables and threw them out. Jesus does not tell us to tolerate sin.

What Jesus did preach was love. We are to love the sinner because we are all sinners. He told us that the greatest commandment is to love the Lord with all our heart, soul, mind and strength and the secnod is to love our neighbor as ourself (Mark 12:28-34). Love not tolerate.

I’m going to love you. Even those of you I don’t know or those of you I don’t really like, I’m going to do my best to love because THAT is what my God has commanded me to do. You’re going to make mistakes. I’m not going to tolerate them. I’m going to love you, all of you. I’m going to make mistakes, and I pray that you won’t tolerate them but that you will love me, even those of you who don’t know me.

I can hate the sin and love the sinner, and I believe that is what God has told us all to do. Love the sinner. Love my enemy. Love my neighbor. Love the one that has wronged me. LOVE.

I can not tolerate the sin anymore.  I will not say its okay. That you can make your choices and that’s great. When your choices are sin, they are wrong and I’m going to hate the choices you’ve made. I’m going to love you and hate the sin. And when I make choices that are sin, I hope you will hate my choices, call me out on them, and love me.

If you’re wondering what sin is check out Exodus 20. It gives a pretty good list.

Love. Don’t tolerate anything.

One response to “I’m not going to tolerate it anymore

Leave a Reply

