It took all day, but I got the message

It’s been a crazy kind of week. The boys (ages 5 and 4) and I have been trapped in the house for the last 5 days. Between the bitter cold and snow and my husband needing our truck, there hasn’t been a trip out. No going to the library, or grocery store, or even sending the boys out to play in the snow.

The house now feels like it is about 20 square feet.

We have all reached our breaking point.

I’m on edge and my nerves are shot. The boys are loud and appear to fight over EVERY SINGLE THING! And I ran out of coffee creamer yesterday morning.

And through the whole crazy, loud, obnoxious day we’ve had today, the same thing has repeated through my head.

Be still and know that I am God.

It’s like a chorus running through my head. The boys are chasing each other (and the dog) through the house screaming (and barking). I close my eyes, take a breath, and hear:

Be still and know that I am God.

No one likes their lunch (except the dog) and they want [insert any random food we don’t have here].

Be still and know that I am God.

I take a break to read a blog post from a blogger I just found (mustbethistalltoride.com) and its called “Be still and know that I am God.”

Okay, okay. I get it. A couple posts back I talked about God speaking to us and how it takes two or three or more times for me to get it, and today was proof that those words were true.

Be still and know that I am God.

I get it. I know that I’m not in control of what’s happening, but I am in control of how I respond. And how I respond directly reflects how the boys will respond. I need to take a breath. I need to be still and know that God is in control and knows exactly what is and what will happen.

And it took all day, but I finally got the message. And when I did, the situation changed. Don’t get me wrong. The boys are still chasing each other and hollering. But I’m different.

They are growing up so fast, and someday I’m going to look back on these days fondly. Yes, even the days where they made completely crazy. I’ll wonder where the time went and how they got so old so fast.

Im going to cherish the time when they are small enough to want hugs and kisses and cuddles and tickles.

Im going to remember when it’s just the three of us at home that we are not alone here.

And then I felt at peace. I felt calmer. I felt better. Because I took the time not only to hear God speaking to me but to really listen to what He was telling me.

I believe that God speaks to all of us. Sometimes we hear Him, but amazing things can happen when we take the time to listen to Him.

With all of our gadgets and noise and stuff, it’s hard to hear God sometimes. But it’s even harder to listen. And when we listen amazing things happen.

Be still and know that I am God.

I got the message. It just took all day for me to listen to it.

Leave a Reply

