Cameron is the biggest miracle in my life

It is so hard for me to believe, but my oldest turns 6 today. Time really does move faster the older you get.

 

20140507-144252.jpg
Cameron (in green) and his brother

 

 

All children are a blessing and a miracle from God, but Cameron has an especially miraculous story. Here is the story of Cameron.

If you’ve read my last two posts, you know I had two miscarriages. It was hard, really, really, hard. When I found out I was pregnant again, I cried. I was so scared that I would have another miscarriage, and I truly didn’t know if I was strong enough to go through that again.

God had a plan. The baby grew just like he was supposed to. I was amazed by the life growing inside me.

Cameron was stubborn even before he was born and wasn’t in any hurry to get out into the world. I was two weeks overdue (and scheduled to be induced) before he decided to make an appearance.

Labor was long and hard. Cameron’s heart rate started to drop. There was some nervousness around me. There was whispers of an emergency c-section. The decision was made to let me continue to push, and Cameron came into the world at 5:47 pm, May 9, 2008.

He wasn’t breathing.

Looking back on it all, it’s hard to know the order things happened. They took Cameron across the room from me and began working on him. There was panic and worry all around me. And no one was telling me what was happening.

Cameron was ten minutes old before he took his first breath. They moved him across the hall to the nursery to continue to work on him. My husband went to watch. My mother stayed with me.

I turned to my mom and told her that I needed her brother, she needed to call him and get him. (My uncle is a preacher.) She immediately pulled out her phone and started dialing. When he answered, Mom told my uncle that we needed him to come. He told her he was there. “No, Mike. We need you to come to the hospital. There are problems.” “I’m standing in the hallway with Chris (my husband).”

 

The phone call God made

 

A little addition background. The day Cameron was born my grandpa was in a different hospital having just had surgery. My grandma and aunt were with him and they all knew Cameron was going to be born that day. They wondered how things were going and why they hadn’t heard from us yet.

My uncle was at home with his family. His phone rang, and the caller told him that there was a problem and he was needed at the hospital. The first phone call we made was to my uncle when he was already at the hospital.

At the time, there was too much going on for me to even think about asking who made that call. Months later, I started asking. No one I talked to had made the call or knew who made the call.

May 9, 2008 God used an audible voice and a telephone to meet my needs.

(As I was writing this I learned of a second call God made that night. My husband’s parents were at home that night waiting to here from us. As everything bad started to happen, my mother-in-law turned to my father-in-law and told him they needed to go to the hospital. He told her they didn’t, that we would call them. She insisted and they got to the hospital just as Cameron was born.)

 

Newborn Intensive Care Unit

 

They got Cameron breathing and stable. He still wasn’t good. The cord had been wrapped around his neck twice. The hospital we were at was not set up to handle his problems so we had to transfer him to another one 45 minutes away.

At that point, I announced that I would be going with him. The doctor could either discharge me or I would just get up and leave. They agreed to discharge me.

At 9:30 that night, my baby got into an ambulance and I got into my truck and we headed to the new hospital.

We finally got there. My husband, my parents and I all finally got to where we were supposed to be. We walked (ok, I was wheeled) into the NICU and there was Cameron, surrounded by doctors and nurses.

It’s a moment I’ll never forget but find hard to describe. The lights were all down low except where they were working on Cameron. There were so many people standing around my baby, including the Russian doctor who would be Cameron’s doctor for the duration of his stay and who will forever hold a special place in my heart.

When it was clear that they would be working on Cameron for a while and I would be unable to hold him again that night, my family convinced me to go lay down and get some sleep. That night, my husband and I stay at the hospital in a room with a recliner and couch and got a little sleep.

 

IMG_0202[1]

Cameron had a feeding tube and was on oxygen. He had an IV in his belly button and needles attached to his head to monitor his brain activity because he had seizures overnight. They were also monitoring his breathing, heart rate and temperature. He looked so helpless, but all I could see was how amazing he was.

 

IMG_0203[1]

 

For the next five days we stayed at a hotel just blocks from the hospital. I sat next to him, holding him as much as I could for as long as I could. I would leave only when someone would force me to go eat, I had to pump, or shift change. In the evenings, my husband would make me leave to go eat supper and then we’d be back. Then he’d have to force me to leave again in a couple hours so I could get some sleep.

For the week after that we went home at night. First thing in the morning my mom would come and pick me up and take me to the hospital. We would spend all day there and then she would hand me over to my husband, who would meet us at the hospital when he was finished at work.

Cameron spent 13 days in the hospital. During that time he had all sorts of tests. He was poked and prodded. We learned he did not like a bottle. He “failed” every test the first time around. They talked about transferring him to Riley Children’s Hospital.

Our doctor believed in the decisions we made and in Cameron. 13 days after he was admitted, Cameron was sent home.

Before they would release Cameron, we had a meeting. They really wanted us to apply for disability. They told us that he would probably have developmental delays and mental disabilities from going so long without oxygen. They all but said don’t have hope.

 

I never lost hope

 

There’s one thing that we were told that I will never forget. After Cameron came home we had follow-up appointments at the hospital. My mom went with me and we stopped to see our Russian doctor while we were there. The doctor told us that he will never forget that first night either. He was so sure Cameron would die while we were standing (sitting) there watching.

Wow. That shocked me. It had never occurred to me. I was shocked by the idea that Cameron could have (really, should have) died.

He was born not breathing. I knew he would live.

It took 10 minutes for him to take his first breath. I knew he would live.

He had seizures, bleeding on the brain, wouldn’t eat from a bottle, and I knew he would live.

From before he was born until the moment it was said to me, it had never even crossed my mind that he could have died.

That’s how strong my faith was. I knew God had a plan. I knew we wouldn’t have gone through two miscarriages just to have a baby die at birth. I simply knew that Cameron would live.

I had no idea how strong my faith really was until it was said that someone thought Cameron would die. It really did shock me. Through all of it, I knew Cameron would live. I knew that God hadn’t let us go through all we had to lose the baby at the last moment.

 

Six years later

 

Those doctors were so wrong. Cameron isn’t normal. He’s better than normal. He is one of the smartest kids I’ve ever been around. He always knows a better way of doing something and will show you how it’s done. He is funny. He is sweet. He loves his brother and pretty much everyone else. He makes friends with people everywhere. He pays attention and picks up on everything.

Six years later, I have to laugh at all the things they told us would be wrong with Cameron, all the stuff they tried to prepare us for. They were just so wrong. My God is bigger than all their doubts.

All of the first year milestones, from rolling over to first tooth to walking, Cameron did them early. He is truly amazing and a miracle from God. The only sign today that Cameron had any problems at birth are his hearing aids. Cameron has moderately-severe hearing loss due to nerve damage due to his birth.

I can thank God every day for Cameron’s hearing loss. Knowing everything that “should” be wrong with him, hearing aids is an easy fix. There are so many more people in the world who deal with things that are much, much worse than hearing aids.

 

The big plan

 

I’ve said repeatedly throughout this blog that I know God has a big plan and it’s bigger than I can ever know. And every time I look at Cameron, I know Cameron plays a big part in God’s big plan.

I don’t know what Cameron’s part is, or if we will ever know what Cameron’s part is. But what I do know is that God has amazing things planned for my little boy.

Science can’t tell you why my boy is able to turn six tomorrow. I know everyone thought he was going to die. He went ten minutes without oxygen and has no brain issues.

My God is bigger than any of your thoughts or doubts.

My God heals amazing injuries.

My God has an amazing plan.

Happy birthday, Cameron. I love you and I can’t wait to see the amazing things God will do through you.

 

IMG_0204[1]

Cameron at about 9 months old
 
 
 
cameron and baby a
Cameron (age 3) has always loved babies
4 responses to “Cameron is the biggest miracle in my life

  1. What a wonderful God story! God is still in the business of doing miracles and He reminds you every day as you look into that sweet face of Cameron. Thanks for sharing your story!

  2. Pingback: Sometimes God’s Blessings Really Do Come Through Rain Drops | 2crazylittleboys

Leave a Reply

