This Is Now

I love music, and I will listen to almost any kind of music. Because of this, it makes sense that my favorite form of worship is song. Worship through music, whether in a church service or in my truck, is when I feel closest to God. He speaks to me through song more than any other way.

After my last post, my mother-in-law brought me the newest Casting Crowns CD, Thrive.  Today I was finally able to listen to it since we spent a good amount of time in the truck. The crazy little boys love music and were more than willing to listen to “Grandma’s music” (although Lion King music was requested once).

It is an amazing CD. I can’t say I love every song on it mostly because I haven’t listened closely to them all. When I find a song that moves me, I want to listen to it repeatedly. We found such a song today.

 

This Is Now

Standing at the water’s edge
I dropped my dreams when I dropped my nets
No hesitation, no regrets
I followed You
But that was then
And this is now
You washed my feet and You changed my name
I swore I’d never be the same
But just like the tides, I guess people change
‘Cause that was then
And this is now

[Chorus:]
I wish I could go back but I don’t know how
I remember when I stood my ground
I swore I’d never let you down
I want to be that man again
But that was then
And this is now

I watched a blind man lift his head
And look his Savior in the eyes
I heard a dead man take a breath
Dropped to my knees as I watched him rise
And I felt the sea beneath my feet
As I stepped out on the angry waves
But You s the storm raging within
You reached out and calmed me then
But this is now

[Chorus:]

Just when I thought my sin had closed the door
I see my Savior standing on the shore
With arms open wide
Just like the first time You called my name
You said that was then
And this is now

My child, I bore your cross, I wore your crown
When you couldn’t come to Me, My love came down
So take My hand, I’ll lead you out
‘Cause that was then
And this is now

My child, I bore your cross, I wore your crown
When you couldn’t come to Me, My love came down
So take My hand, I’ll lead you out
You’ll never be that man again
‘Cause that was then
And this is now

The song is based on the story of Peter. Peter, the disciple who loved Jesus. He was a fisherman who became a fisher of men. He was the man who said, “If I have to die with You, I will not betray You!” to Jesus (Mark 14:31 NKJV) and then went on to betray Him not once but three times.

How must Peter have felt? How have we all felt when we’ve fallen short, as we all do? Those moments of doubt when we can’t believe that Jesus could still love us. Those times when we realize we’ve strayed from His path and think there’s no way back. That He loved us once, but that was then, before this happened.

Every day Jesus tells us that this is now. The past is forgotten. He knows we will all fall short. He knows we will make mistakes, that we will stray. And He loves us anyway. He bore our cross. He wore our crown.

Jesus knew Peter was going to betray Him. But even knowing that, Jesus told Peter, “And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church.” (Matthew 16:18) If Jesus could use Peter to build His church after Peter had denied knowing Him in His time of need, what could Jesus use us for if we would just follow Him?

Jesus doesn’t ask us for perfection. He asks us to love Him and follow Him. And when we fall short, He tells us to repent and to go and sin no more. Ask for forgiveness, and the slate is wiped clean.

That was then.

This is now.

Leave a Reply

