If You Want Me To

This week’s Worship Wednesday is a song I have loved since the first moment I heard in about 14 years ago. As a young adult, I listened to Ginny Owen’s first album on repeat and If You Want Me To became an instant favorite of mine.

 

If You Want Me To

The pathway is broken and the signs are unclear
And I don’t know the reasons why you brought me here.
But just because You love me the way that You do
I’m gonna walk through the valley if you want me to.

Cause I’m not who I was when I took my first step
And I’m clinging to the promise You’re not through with me yet.
So if all of these trials bring me closer to You
Then I will go through the fire if You want me to

And it may not be the way I would’ve chosen
When You lead me through a world that’s not my home
But You never said it would be easy
You only said I’d never go alone.

So when the whole world turns against me
And I’m all by myself
And I can’t hear You answer my cries for help
I’ll remember the suffering Your love put You through
And I will go through the valley if You want me to

I love the line “But You never said it would be easy. You only said I’d never go alone.” It’s just so true. We go through hard times and difficult days. There are times we don’t understand the path we are on. But through it all, we are not alone. God is always there with you.

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, nor shall the flame scorch you. For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I gave Egypt for your ransom, Ethiopia and Seba in your place. Since you were precious in My sight, you have been honored, and I have loved you; therefore I will give  men for you, and people for your life. Fear not, for I am with you;” -Isaiah 43:2-5

The passage from Isaiah tells us when, not if but when, we go through hard times God is with us. You are not alone in your heartache. You are not alone in the darkness. God is with you.

This is all temporary. We are here just for a time. This world is not our home. Someday we’re going to a place that’s so great words cannot accurately describe it. A place better than anything you can imagine. We travel through the darkness, through the hard times, through the fire and the valley, but we don’t travel that road alone.

You can find all of the Worship Wednesday posts here.

Leave a Reply

