Heart of Worship

I was thinking about skipping this week’s Worship Wednesday’s post. It feels like every week we have been fighting a new battle around our crazy little house, and it would be much easier to just take a break.

First our cat died. It was not unexpected as she was 14 years old, but it was still hard.

Then my husband had to be out-of-town for work for a couple of days. While he was gone, I spotted a couple of fleas on our 60 pound dog. That meant I had to give the dog a bath. During the bath, somehow the diamond fell out of my engagement ring. (Thankfully, I did find the diamond, but only after I sat and cried for 20 minutes.)

Then we went camping and all the hoopla that came along with that. The burn on my thumb still hasn’t healed completely. We ended that trip by getting super sick and our dog getting Parvo. As I shared last week, we then had to have our dog put to sleep.

And then last week, we found fleas again. We have been fighting the seemingly never-ending battle against these bugs. We’ve been bombing, cleaning, washing, sweeping, scratching.

Oh, and somewhere in there I found a dead mouse (which I guess is better than a live one). And mice actually bother me more than fleas.

So you can see why I might want to just crawl back into bed rather than putting my thoughts out here. It would be easier to pull the blanket over my head. Or to toss my words aside and head to the park to play.

I’m feeling under attack. I’m feeling worn out. But instead of going back to bed, I’m fighting back. When we do God’s work, Satan attacks.

God knows I’m under attack. He knows I’m tired. He knows I was thinking about skipping today. And He knows what I need. I didn’t have a song picked out in advance for today like I have the past weeks. And last night He put a song on my heart.

 

Heart of Worship

When the music fades
And all is stripped away
And I simply come.
Longing just to bring
Something that’s of worth
That will bless Your heart.

I’ll bring You more than a song,
For a song in itself
Is not what You have required.
You search much deeper within,
Through the way things appear,
You’re looking into my heart.

I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about You, it’s all about You, Jesus.
I’m sorry, Lord, for the thing I’ve made it
When it’s all about You, it’s all about You, Jesus.

King of endless worth,
No one could express
How much you deserve.
Though I’m weak and poor
All I have is Yours,
Every single breath!

I’ll bring You more than a song,
For a song in itself
Is not what You have required.
You search much deeper within,
Through the way things appear,
You’re looking into my heart.

I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about You, it’s all about You, Jesus.
I’m sorry, Lord, for the thing I’ve made it
When it’s all about You, it’s all about You, Jesus.

I remember the first time I heard this song. It was sometime around 2000 at a Wednesday night church service. Before the song started, the story behind Matt Redman writing it was shared. If you don’t know it, you can find it here.

The first time I sang Heart of Worship it moved me to tears as it has almost every time since. It reminds me of where I need to be, of where my heart needs to be.

God isn’t asking us for a show. He doesn’t need a production in our lives or our churches. All He requires is for us to simply come to Him. To bring Him our hearts.

As my crazy little family is traveling this hard road, it’s important for us to remember this. To take a step back and simply come before our God. To set down our trials and worries at His feet and breathe Him in.

I know I needed this reminder this week to get back to the Heart of Worship. Maybe you need this reminder, too. If it was up to me, this song would be played in every church on a regular basis. I know our churches need this reminder.

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 NKJV

May we all get back to the Heart of Worship.

You can find all of the Worship Wednesday posts here

Leave a Reply

