Where Feet May Fail

 

I’m surprised by how often I’ve been brought back to Peter recently.

Simon who was called Peter. The fisherman whom Christ called to leave his nets behind and become a fisher of men. Who’s mother-in-law was sick and healed. Who walked on the water until he let his fear overtake him. Peter who knew Jesus was the Christ and who was the rock Christ built His church on. Peter who swore he would die before he denied Jesus, though Jesus told him he would. Peter who fell asleep when Christ asked him to pray that dark night in the garden. Peter who would fight when Christ was arrested but Jesus called for peace. Who would weep after denying knowing Jesus three times.

And after Jesus conquered death and appeared to the disciples, He told Peter to feed His lambs, tend His sheep, and feed His sheep. Jesus told Peter to “Follow Me.” (John 21:19 NKJV)

I’ve been brought back to Peter’s story time and again, through the songs I’ve been listening to and the words I’ve been reading. Today it finally occurred to me to look deeper into the story that continues to find its way into my path.

Can you imagine what it would have been like for Christ to call you to leave your life behind and follow Him? To love Him so much you would walk away from your family, your job, your life? To trust Him so much you would step out of a boat and onto the water. How violently would you weep if you had denied knowing Jesus just moments before they would crucify Him? And then after all of that, imagine seeing Jesus, alive after you saw Him die, calling to you, telling you to tend to His people.

Peter’s story could be the story of any of us. To love Christ with all your heart, to fall short of what you know He wants you to be, and He still calls for you, still wants you.

Oh, to have the faith Peter had that night on the water. To step out onto the unknown and instead of sinking, to walk.

One of those questions that people ask and I’ve never had the answer to until now is, if you could meet anyone living or dead, who would it be. If you take Jesus out of the options, it would be Peter. To be able to ask him what it was like to be there, to step out onto the water, to fall short and have Jesus call you to Him anyway. What must it have been like to touch His hands before and after the nails?

Maybe this is my Peter moment. Maybe Jesus isn’t calling me to literally walk on the water with Him, but maybe these words are my waters. I pour my heart out onto these pages and then press the button that sends them out to the world. Every time it is scary. Every time I expect to fail, to sink. And every time you read them. And every time it’s as if I’ve stepped out of the boat and onto the water.

Maybe we are all being called to be like Peter. To have a faith so big you step out of the boat. And maybe you only take a couple of steps on the water before you start to sink and call out for Jesus to pull you back up. But maybe, just maybe, you keep your eyes on Jesus and walk all the way to the shore line.

Find your Peter moment. Jesus is calling you to put down your net and follow Him. The journey is amazing and hard and wonderful and you will fall short. It will bring you to tears at times. You will fail and you will sink. But the rewards are eternal, and there is nothing like those moments when you are standing on the water.

My feet may fail, but my God never does.

 

Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me

Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

I will call upon Your name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine.

 

You can find all of the Worship Wednesday posts here.

Leave a Reply

