Happy Halloween

Tomorrow is Halloween. I’ve shared my thoughts on Christmas and Santa Claus. I’ve told you where I stand on the Easter Bunny.  So where do I stand on Halloween? Is it a satanic holiday that we stay completely away from? Is it all just fun and we go all out?

IMG_0041-0

I guess you could find us somewhere right in the middle. Yes, the boys have costumes. Yes, we went to a Halloween party last weekend. Yes, we are going to do a little trick-or-treating this year.

I believe Halloween is just like everything else. If you want it to be satanic, you can make it that way.  You can also worship Santa Claus at Christmas and make that holiday anything but holy. It’s a matter of where your heart is, and our hearts are good.

Of course, there are things that I dislike about Halloween. Honestly I despise anything where you ask people to give you something (this includes bridal and baby showers). I can’t stand the idea of going to strangers and asking them for candy. When I was little, on the handful of Halloweens we actually went trick-or-treating, we would go up and down our street. We knew everyone. We currently live in a neighborhood where there aren’t a lot of kids and few houses even turn their lights on. Each of the last three years, we’ve had exactly two trick-or-treaters.

If there’s no one handing out candy in our neighborhood, then where can we go? I really don’t like the idea of driving to another neighborhood to go trick-or-treating. (Although we have been invited to go with friends in their neighborhoods.) Instead, we put on our costumes and go see the grandparents. We are going to take part in our town’s business trick-or-treating in the afternoon, and we will spend the evening at home waiting for those two trick-or-treaters that will stop by.

And don’t get me started on the costumes. Halloween may be the one time I’m grateful to not have a little girl. It was hard enough finding appropriate costumes for my boys. Have you seen the little girl costumes? The little girl police costume has a short, frilly skirt, handcuffs, and fingerless gloves. Why are we sexualizing our little girls?

For my boys the costumes were slightly easier. However, the first costume Connor picked up was a zombie doctor. Why are there gruesome zombie costumes for four-year olds? And then, because he is big for his age, the age appropriate costume he really wanted didn’t come in his size. Thank goodness I had that elephant costume in the closet.

Earlier this month we went to our local orchard. There was a hayride out to the pumpkin patch. The boys loved it, and they got to pick out their own pumpkins. Instead of carving them, I gave the boys paint and paintbrushes (and their fingers) and let them paint them. They were so pleased with the results and put their pumpkins on the front porch. (Note: if you let kids paint pumpkins with washable paint, set the pumpkins outside and it rains, the paint will wash off.)

There is nothing wrong with pumpkins or jack-o-lanterns. I’m pretty sure God loves pumpkins since He made them. Unless you are kneeling down and worshipping your pumpkins, I don’t see anything satanic about our pumpkins,

So we have our wholesome, age appropriate costumes, our pumpkins on the porch, and our trick-or-treating plan, and I think that’s okay. We’ve had the talk so they know that anything scary that might see is pretend, although we are doing our best to stay away from the scary stuff. We are going to get some candy and remember to say thank you. We are going to walk through downtown and interact with the local businesses. We are going to hold open doors and wait our turn. There will be no satanic rituals in our Halloween.

I was wracking my brain this afternoon trying to find good holiday comparison for Halloween. It took me a while to come up with the right way to describe my feelings about it, but I finally figured it out. Halloween is a child’s St. Patrick’s Day. Sure, it probably meant something when it first started and it may still mean that to some people today. However, today St. Patrick’s Day is about green beer and Halloween is about costumes and candy.

The most important thing is to guard your heart. Everything that doesn’t move you to God will move you away from God. If you let it, anything can be turned evil.

And if you are looking for us tomorrow evening, you can find us at home with the porch light on waiting for that random van that happens to be driving down our road and stops.

IMG_0010-0

IMG_0012-0

One response to “Happy Halloween

Leave a Reply

