A Pure Joy of Childhood

There are few things that encompass the pure, unadulterated joys of childhood like a freshly raked pile of leaves. There is just something about a pile of leaves that draws children to it, and the look of pure joy on their faces is one that you just don’t see other times of the year.

IMG_0042.JPG

November is a time when we reflect on all the things we are thankful for. Of course, we’re thankful for our family and friends, the food on our table and the roof over our head. This year I want to think about it a little differently. This year instead of sharing with you how thankful I am for my family (which I am very thankful for), maybe I’ll share with you that I’m thankful that on the fifth and sixth days God created all the creatures of the sky and the water and that walk on the Earth because I have a little boy who loves animals and wants to know everything about every one of them.

This year I’m thankful to live in a place that has four seasons. I’m thankful for the leaves that turn such beautiful colors and fall to the ground. I’m thankful for the piles they get put in and I’m even thankful that the city is slow to pick them up this year. I’m thankful God had the foresight to create trees that would lose their leaves so all these years later I could be thankful for the joy my boys get from them.

I’m thankful for the technology at made a phone I can carry in my pocket that has a great camera so I can capture that look of joy and then share it here so you can experience it to.

IMG_0046.JPG

IMG_0052.JPG

IMG_0067.JPG

IMG_0065.JPG
“Oh come, let us sing to the Lord! Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation. Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving; let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms.” Psalms 95:1-2

Leave a Reply

