Been Through the Water

“John answered, saying to all, ‘I indeed baptize you with water; but One mightier than I is coming, whose sandal strap I am not worthy to loose. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.'” Luke 3:16

 

I love the picture this song gives of a little boy’s baptism. We should all be living our lives like that little boy with the muddy feet. You don’t put your old shoes on your brand new feet. I can picture that boy’s dad rising off his feet with the hose before letting him into the house. “Mom won’t let you in the house with those muddy feet.” It paints an amazing picture for our relationship with God.

We come out of the water clean, and then walk around the world in our bare feet. And every day Jesus rinses our feet off so we are able to enter His house. There has been no one in the history of the world who ever has been or will be perfect except Jesus. Every day we all get our feet dirty. And every day, every time, Jesus is there with the hose to rinse them off.

How amazing! No matter how muddy our feet get or how often He has to rinse them off, Jesus keeps coming back with that hose. He knows that we are going to fail. He knows that some days it might be more than just our feet that need a good rinsing.

As we’re walking along in the world and Jesus is walking with us, it seems like He must be thinking, “Here we go again. She’s going to step right into that mud puddle with her brand new feet and then I’ll have to rinse them off again.” How amazing is it that Jesus isn’t thinking that. He doesn’t remember your feet being muddy the last time. He only sees you this time. And He rinses you off, and it’s like you were always clean. “For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their lawless deeds I will remember no more.” Hebrews 8:12

He will remember our sins no more. Now this is in no way a license to sin just because Jesus will forgive. We should all be striving to be better. We should be trying to keep our feet clean. We will fail. Our feet will get muddy again. And Jesus will hose us off as if it was the first time.

Even though your feet are going to get muddy again, you don’t put your old shoes on your brand new feet.

I’ve been through the water.

Been Through the Water
Kyle Matthews

Preacher pulled the boy up from the water
Alleluias rose from the banks
There was a new suit of clothes from his Father
And a prayer of thanks

The boy walked barefooted all the way home for dinner
And when they laughed at his muddy feet…

He said I’ve been through the water and I’ve come out clean
Got new clothes to cover me

And you don’t wear your old shoes on your brand new feet
When you’ve been through the water
I’ve been through the water

Preacher turned them around at the altar
Pronounced the boy and his girl “man and wife”
In two years they were Mother and Father
And they built them a life

And his old girlfriend saw a moment of weakness
And she said, “If you’re lonely come see me sometime.”

He said I’ve been through the water and I’ve come out clean
Got new clothes to cover me
And you don’t wear your old shoes on your brand new feet
When you’ve been through the water
I’ve been through the water

He baits a hook for his grandson of seven
And says, “Soon, I’ll be free from these pains.”
The boy asked if he’s ever been to heaven
He says, “No, but I think I know the way
‘Cause I’ve been through the water.”

I’ve been through the water and I’ve come out clean
Got new clothes to cover me
And you don’t wear your old shoes on your brand new feet
When you’ve been through the water
I’ve been through the water

IMG_0088[1]

You can find all of the Worship Wednesday posts here.

Leave a Reply

