Feed My Sheep

I read a news article this week. It was in my local paper but from Fort Lauderdale. Three men were detained in Fort Lauderdale. One of them is a pastor. They will have to appear in court. They face up to two months in jail and $500 fines. What horrible crime could these men have been doing when the police stopped them?

They were feeding the homeless.

I do not understand the world we are living in. I do not understand a world in which a woman chooses to end the little life growing inside her and we are to applaud her in that decision, but it’s a crime to feed the hungry.

I do not understand a country where so many people are on government assistance but it’s a crime to feed the hungry.

I do not understand a nation that has all sorts of programs in schools to make sure children don’t go without food during breaks and weekends, but it’s a crime for private individuals to feed the hungry.

I do not understand a nation that runs commercials asking for our support to feed the hungry around when world but  it is a crime to feed the hungry in our own communities.

I do not understand.

“‘For I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’
“Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’
“And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.'” –Matthew 25:35-40

Jesus told us that we should do it for the least for it is the SAME as doing it for Him. Feed the hungry as if it is Jesus Himself that is hungry.

What kind of world are we living in when every day I see commercials on TV asking me to give money to feed animals but it is a crime to feed people?

It’s times like this that make me think of Jesus hanging there on the cross. “Then Jesus said, ‘Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they do.'” Luke 23:34

Father, forgive us. Turn our hearts back towards You. Father, forgive us, for we do to know what we do.

“He said to him the third time, ‘Simon, son of Jonah, do you love Me?’ Peter was grieved because He said to him the third time, ‘Do you love Me?’
“And he said to Him, ‘Lord, You know all things; You know that I love You.’
“Jesus said to him, ‘Feed My sheep.'”

Leave a Reply

