An Open Letter to Glenn Beck

Dear Glenn,

Friday night I wrote a blog post asking my readers to watch your show this evening. I didn’t know what you were going to say. I just knew that God wanted me to share that message. I shared with you what I had written and you replied to me. You said the kindest things about my faith. That alone is a story that I will tell for the rest of my life. It meant so much to me.

This morning I watched the radio program and listened as you gave teasers about what this evening’s show was going to be about. Let’s be honest, it made me extremely nervous. I don’t know that I could have been more nervous if I had actually been on TV with you. I had put myself out there only on faith in God that your message was going to be important.

I was sick to my stomach all day waiting for your show to begin. But at five o’clock as you began to speak, I felt completely at peace. I’m not sure you were more than four or five sentences in before I knew you were going to share about your health.

What an amazing and terrifying story.

I could relate to so much of your journey for I have a similar one. I started having health problems at 19. I started having dizzy spells which would cause me to fall. I had such horrible headaches, and I started having terrifying problems with my eyesight. I was originally diagnosed with an earache and put on medication that caused my heart to race so fast I thought I was going to die.

Eventually I was diagnosed with a rare condition called Psuedotumor Cerebri, a fake brain tumor. It’s hard to diagnose because my body behaved as if I had a brain tumor but there was no tumor in my head. Over a period of eight or so years, my symptoms would come and go.

You told tonight about a doctor telling you that it was your faith in God alone that caused you to be able to get out of bed. During my last flair up, my doctor told me that there was so much pressure inside my head he had no idea how I was able to stand or see. He was sure that there would be lasting, permanent damage to my eyesight.

I went through the treatment, again. There was a lot of prayer during this time. We prayed not only for me to be well but also for me to be healed. I did become well and my doctor was amazed that I had no issues with my eyes. I remember clearly him telling me that if I had walked into his office for the first time that day he would have no idea I ever had Psuedotumor Cerebri, an uncurable disease.

My journey was much different from yours but so very similar. God truly performs miracles still today.

I remember those times when your programs changed. I remember how odd I thought it was at the time. I remember wondering what was going on. I never thought that you didn’t care anymore. I knew there had to be more to the story than what I had. There was a couple of times I would change the channel or just turn the TV off, but I kept coming back because I knew that whatever was going on it was important.

The message of love is such an important one. It feels as if so much of the world has forgotten that we need to love one another. And sometimes I wonder if people have forgotten what it means to love. Loving someone isn’t always agreeing with them. Love isn’t even always liking someone. Jesus told us to love one another. He never said we had to agree or even like each other as long as we love each other.

Loving someone means wanting the best for them. It is possible to love those you dislike or that dislike you. That is a message that you have been spreading. I love every time someone comes at you with anger or dislike for what they believe you are and you respond with love and kindness, to the point where you even tell them you love them. And mean it. How amazing would the world be in everyone responded like that?

I’m very excited about the stories you’re going to share with us. Man in the Moon was an amazing story. I was disappointed that we were unable to see it live but so happy when you shared it on TV. Not only did I love it, but my four-year old son asks to watch it on a regular basis, and in fact, he got mad at me tonight when I said it was bedtime and he would have to watch it tomorrow. I know you will share stories that I can share with my boys.

I am so excited for our journey forward from here. I am excited to set the world on fire with love and kindness and hope with you. It feels as if so many are feeling as if they are without hope. Hope is an amazing thing and is what keeps us moving forward rather than crumbling under the pressures the world.

In my blog, I try to write about my real life. I’ve talked about the physical and emotional hurts I’ve gone through. I’ve told of hard days I’ve had. Yesterday I wrote about how grouchy I was for absolutely no good reason. And although my audience is so very much smaller than yours, I believe you are right that, regardless of the size, audiences connect when we share the truth rather than just the best of the best.

I told my readers on Friday that I had no idea why God wanted me to share with them that they should watch your show tonight. Sitting here tonight, I don’t know how your show affected them, but I know how it affected me. I know I’m supposed to be doing something. I believe I’m right where I’m supposed to be. This is going to be amazing. God is doing amazing things and I’m thankful for my little part in His big plan.

Thank you for sharing your story with us.

#LetsTellOurStory

2 responses to “An Open Letter to Glenn Beck

  1. Some Reasons for Suffering

    For you, Glenn, and your listeners:

    *The Lord God Almighty is not the Author of illness and disease, although He permits it for our good.

    Mark 5:21-32
    To show what faith can do; deliverance by faith.

    Hebrews 12-3-11
    To chasten His sons and daughters.

    Hosea 12
    Suffering for other’s sins and for the irresponsible decisions we make.

    James 1-2-4
    To produce character and hope, which is profitable for our growth.

    11 Cor. 12-1-4
    To keep our pride down.

    11 Cor. 12-3-4
    To comfort others in their trials, and to identify, relate, bring hope, especially for our brethren.

    11 Cor. 11:22-28
    Intense suffering for Christ ALONE.

    Galatians 6:7-10
    To show the principle of reaping and sowing.

    Genesis 3; Romans 5:12
    Due to The Fall of Man, suffering became the way if life for the Christian.

    Job 1-3
    Suffering only known to God but not given to men. Conflict between God and Satan.
    Satan can only enter in on our doubts and weaknesses, and by the power of God The Spirit, we banish him out.

    *We are responsible to be taught by suffering!

    Many more in-depth reasons for suffering.

    From Isaiah 1:22-23
    –He knows and allows His Sovereign distresses in my live.
    –He is in absolute control. He uplifts my heart like a Shepherd.
    –He leads, cares, and picks me up in His arms in love and comfort.
    –He knows my heart completely!
    –He has Satan under His control and always will.
    –He is indiscrutable
    in all of His ways.

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. You are so correct about the lack of love in this world. I come to believe either people don’t know the true meaning of love or they have forgotten how to love. I try my best to not only tell people that I love them, but live my life as a symbol of love, through my actions.

Leave a Reply

