It’s been a while

If you’re a regular around here, you’ve probably noticed I’ve been away. I hadn’t planned on being away. My original plan was just to be gone from Christmas to New Years as we enjoyed time together as a family. It seemed like a good plan as I wasn’t planning on writing a post of New Years. I felt the same way about it this year as I did last year.

And then life happened. We’d be in the middle of something and I’d think, I need to blog today. And night would fall and lying in bed I would remember that I hadn’t gotten around to blogging. I really have to blog tomorrow. That’s the thing about writing. If you do it often, you keep doing it. If you stop writing, it’s really hard to start again. Several times I would get around to charging the iPad and turn

ing the Internet on, only to look at the blank page, shut the iPad and Internet off and walk away. Maybe tomorrow, I’d think.

So tomorrow has finally come. After almost two months away, let’s catch back up.

Hope For the Holidays was an amazing success. I believe everyone who asked for help got some sort of help. I couldn’t have done it without you guys. Thank you to everyone who prayed, who shared, and who gave. I’m hoping we can do it again next year, and it be even bigger and better than it was this year.

Around our crazy little house, things have been really good, too. My baby turned 5 in January. That seems so hard to believe. He’s turning into a little man right before my eyes.

IMG_0373

We finally got enough snow that the boys could go out and really play in it.

Cameron

Cameron

Connor

Connor

I’ve been baking a lot. For several years, I’ve been baking bread and have tried my hand at pasta a couple of times. I really enjoy baking so we started thinking about what else I could make at home. It turns out that flour tortillas are fairly easy to make at home and use ingredients that we keep on hand. It took a couple tries to get them to roll out nice, but it only takes about an hour from start to finished product. You can find the recipe I used here. (if you try it I add a little extra salt and use shortening instead of lard)

Tortillas

Tortillas

After tortillas, I was feeling really adventurous. I googled bagel recipes and it turns out you can make those at home, too, and they are so much better than store bought. In fact, I have a batch rising right now. That recipe can be found here. (I use 4 cups of flour and mix the ingredients like I am making bread.) The hardest part of bagels is trying to hook the ends together so I stopped making them like that and instead make a disc and put a hole in the middle with my thumb. We love ours topped with shredded cheese.

Bagels

Bagels

And to be really wild and crazy, we booked a room at a local hotel last weekend so the boys could spend some time swimming. They loved it, but kept asking when their uncle Justin was going to get there. The only other time they’ve been to a hotel is when we went to uncle Justin’s wedding, and the boys really think if we’re going to be at a hotel, uncle Justin should be too.

Cameron

Cameron

Connor

Connor

So that’s what we’ve been up to. I’m back now. The first post is always the hardest. It’s just a matter of getting words, any words onto the page. I have thoughts, topics, opinions and songs so expect to start seeing them again.

Oh! Who could forget that after about seven months of refusing a haircut, Connor finally agreed to get one (only after I made the deal that I would take him to the zoo as soon as it opens if he agreed to the haircut. Yes, we do use bribery.)

Haircut!

Haircut!

Leave a Reply

